Honorable Mentions: January 2020

Best Indie ShortA Good Home by Vishnu Prasad (USA)

Best Indie ShortPi by Laith Al-Ramahi (United Arab Emirates)

Best Indie ShortThe Session by Rick Beck (USA)

Best Drama ShortMen I Trust by Nathan Vass (USA)

Best Drama ShortOvercast by Anthony Kalmeta (USA)

Best Drama ShortRight Where You Need To Be by Choice Skinner (USA)

Best Documentary ShortChasing Color: A Gem Trader’s Journey by Rob Himebaugh (USA)

Best Documentary ShortLiving Water by Gerard M. Cahill (USA)

Best Documentary ShortMaffy’s Jazz by Deniz Yuksel Abalıoğlu (Turkey)

Best Romantic Short: Birthday Party by Leslie Lank (USA)

Best Romantic Short: Groups of Two by Bobby Slaski (USA)

Best Comedy ShortMan Looking for Job by Paolo Vacirca (Sweden)

Best Comedy ShortOld Aquatics by Stephen Mickelsen (USA)

Best Comedy ShortTwo Stans and a Dan by Jeff Mosuk (Canada)

Best Dark Comedy ShortBrought To You By Satan by Holly Laurent (USA)

Best Dark Comedy ShortSui Caedere by Fabrizio Accettulli (Italy)

Best Dark Comedy ShortXmas by A.J. Callens (USA)

Best Thriller ShortAntelope Mile by Joseph LaGuidice (USA)

Best Crime ShortBotched by Thomas Baker (USA)

Best Crime ShortBroken Belles by Scott Grady (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: Perpetual Us by Tanner Gibas (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: The Lioness by Richard Poche (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: Unexpected by Cristiano Soares (Brazil)

Best Mystery ShortPoint Of View by Dingding Ou (China)

Best Mystery ShortThe Decision by Samuel Nkwume (USA)

Best Fantasy ShortChronology by Kate Romero (USA)

Best Fantasy ShortLove’s Labours Lost by Nick Musleh (USA)

Best Horror Short2:59 by Kody Newton (USA)

Best Horror ShortAll I See by George Pilafdzhyan and Gary Karapetyan (USA)

Best Sci-Fi Short: Dr. On by Vi-Dieu Nguyen (USA)

Best Sci-Fi Short: Pi by Laith Al-Ramahi (United Arab Emirates)

Best Experimental Short: Fizzle by Jeremiah Kipp (USA)

Best Experimental Short: Olfaction by Beboon Bahk (South Korea)

Best Experimental Short: The Requiem by Peter Wang (Canada)

Best Student ShortAre We Born or Made by Yi Zhang (USA)

Best Student ShortLines by Olivia Rietti (USA)

Best Animation Short: Framed by Sandra Rzeczyca (USA)

Best Animation Short: Thousand Dollar Chocolate by Emerson Chan (USA)

Best Women ShortBroken Belles by Scott Grady (USA)

Best Women ShortPartners in Crime by Kerry LeVielle (USA)

Best Women ShortSlip by Lizzie Morgan (USA)

Best LGBTQ ShortLayover by Skyler Barrett (USA)

Best LGBTQ ShortPlayboys by Roxanne Paisan (Spain)

Best LGBTQ ShortThe Breath Of Celia by MIguel Angel Barroso (Spain)

Best MicrofilmBehind the Right Door by Peregrine Mccafferty (UK)

Best MicrofilmJe Suis Une Douce Traîtrise by Joakim Scheidegger (Switzerland)

Best MicrofilmParanoid by Mikael Roth (Sweden)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: Haunted Roots by Matt Ryan Vilade and Will Cook (USA)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: OrDaned by Kenny Prawat and Justin Prawat (USA)

Best Web and New Media: In Your Honor by Mauro Romero (Argentina)

Best Web and New Media: Trillo and Suede by Ophir Ariel and Ryan Collins (USA)

Best Music Video: Extraordinary Men by Ari Takahashi (Italy)

Best Mobile Short: Secrets, A Coming of Age, Selfie Film by Barbara Becker Holstein (USA)

Best Mobile Short: The Hall of Nirvana by Hirotaka Ikeda (Japan)

Best Parody Short: Couch’s Crazy Cartoon Commercials by Steve Couch (USA)

Best Director (Female): Samantha Casella for To A God Unknown (Italy)

Best Director (Male): Laith Al-Ramahi for Pi (United Arab Emirates)

Best Student Director (Female): Grace Chung for Memento Mori, Memento Ma’um (USA)

Best Student Director (Female): Sarah Lee Harter for Clean. (USA)

Best Student Director (Male): Wesley Wang for Faces (USA)

Best First Time Director (Female): Holly Laurent for Brought To You By Satan (USA)

Best First Time Director (Female): Olga Alikberova for Draft (Russia)

Best First Time Director (Male): Daniel Bruington for Beyond the Cracks (USA)

Best First Time Director (Male): Peter Wang for The Requiem (Canada)

Best First Time Director (Male): Saulo Guilherme Senra for Into the Light (Brazil)

Best Young Filmmaker: Scotty Strout and Will Strout for Berries (USA)

Best Actress: Christy St. John for A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Interview (USA)

Best Actress: Dana Aliya Levinson for Dear Aunt Noa (USA)

Best Actress: Rébecca Dereims for Girl Tuesday (UK)

Best Actor: Bateer Liu for For An Absent Recluse (China)

Best Actor: Tenzin Rabsel for The Mirage (Australia)

Best Supporting Actor: Lawrence Whitener for Saving Robin Williams (USA)

Best Child/Young Actor: Naveen Kumar for Metanoia (United Arab Emirates)

Best Child/Young Actor: Trevis Zhang for Magic Kingdom (Hong Kong)

Best Acting Duo: Adriana Moniz and Anna Eremin for Red Queen (Portugal)

Best Acting Duo: Bre Blair and Chris White for Velcro (USA)

Best Acting Ensemble: Geoffrey Owens, Peter Friedman, Ingrid Saxon, Jennifer Plotzke, Caitlin O’Connell, James Strouse, Marisa Brau and Steve Coats for Fizzle (USA)

Best Acting Ensemble: Irene Karas Loeper, Daniel Bacon, Sadie Silcock, Andrew Coghlan, Aaron McCallum, Raquel Riskin, Colin Foo and Dee Jay Jackson for Two Stans and a Dan (Canada)

Best Acting Ensemble: Jamel King, Dustin Hahn, Leslie Seiler, Hanna Anderson, Kaley Roberts, Andy Gates, Kyle Colton and Emi Cross for Ill Will (USA)

Best Cinematography: Frank Hoffman for To A God Unknown (Italy)

Best Cinematography: Logan Wong for For An Absent Recluse (China)

Best Editing: Alfredo G. Unibe for When La Rumorosa Quiets (Mexico)

Best Editing: Johan Granberg for Bamboo: The Tradition of the Future (Qatar)

Best Editing: Rob Himebaugh for Chasing Color: A Gem Trader’s Journey (USA)

Best Visual FX: Mason and Jay Save The World! (USA)

Best Visual FX: The Hall of Nirvana (Japan)

Best Production Design: Elsa Mickelsen for Old Aquatics (USA)

Best Production Design: Ou Dingding for For An Absent Recluse (China)

Best Production Design: Tay Olssen for A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Interview (USA)

Best Sound Design: Aurélien Martin Vieira Lino for Red Queen (Portugal)

Best Original Score: Aimee Hoffman for Micky (USA)

Best Original Score: Brian Ziff for Amara (USA)

Best Original Story: Andrew Woodward and Emily Swain for The Shriving (UK)

Best Original Story: Cristiano Soares for Mislinked (Brazil)

Best Original Story: Tamara von Werthern for I Don’t Want To Set The World On Fire (UK)

Best Short Script: Cal’s Strings by Domanique Cummings (USA)

Best Short ScriptThirty Minutes Or Less by Blake Siemens and Patty Meyer (USA)






Independent Shorts Awards 2018-2020 © All Rights Reserved