Gold Awards: January 2020

Best Indie ShortThrough the Breeze by Mohsen Emaminouri (USA)

Best Drama ShortRuth by Shannon Jarrell-Ivey (USA)

Best Documentary ShortBamboo: The Tradition of the Future by Johan Granberg (Qatar)

Best Romantic Short: Girl Tuesday by Dan Turner (UK)

Best Comedy ShortHalf Chance of Evil by Sara Lohman (USA)

Best Dark Comedy ShortChampagne and Cyanide by Li Hagman Schmalenbach (Sweden)

Best Action Short: Feint by Matthew Genecov (USA)

Best Thriller ShortBrut by Nick Chartrand (USA)

Best Crime ShortInto the Light by Saulo Guilherme Senra (Brazil)

Best Film Noir Short: Red Queen by Adriana Martins da Silva and Pedro Martins (Portugal)

Best Mystery ShortThe Voodoo Man by Jason Farries (UK)

Best Fantasy ShortFor An Absent Recluse by Dingding Ou (China)

Best Horror ShortMama’s Boy by Brian Robert Oliver (USA)

Best Sci-Fi Short: Columbus by Freddie Paull (USA)

Best Experimental ShortEternal Escape by Ryo Takahashi (Japan)

Best Student ShortTortun: A Poetry of A Girl Who Fell to Earth by Bouquet Napussorn (Thailand)

Best Animation Short: Urbanality by Evan McInnes (Australia)

Best Children ShortSay It to the River by Hongjia Yang (China)

Best Women Short: Tortun: A Poetry of A Girl Who Fell to Earth by Bouquet Napussorn (Thailand)

Best LGBTQ ShortA Kept Boy by Peter Chapman (USA)

Best MicrofilmUncle Jake’s Place by Mack Judd and Don Markus (USA)

Best Music VideoEternal Escape by Ryo Takahashi (Japan)

Best Mobile Short: Mislinked by Cristiano Soares (Brazil)

Best Director (Female): Jane Rowen and Nora Hawari for There’s No Word for Us (USA)

Best Director (Male): Dingding Ou for For An Absent Recluse (China)

Best Student Director (Female): Bouquet Napussorn for Tortun: A Poetry of A Girl Who Fell to Earth (Thailand)

Best Student Director (Male): João Dall’Stella for Stalls (USA)

Best First Time Director (Female): Elsa Levytsky for Goodnight Death (USA)

Best First Time Director (Male): Stefan Fleischlig-Tangl for Flight (Austria)

Best Actress: Ellyn Heald for Columbus (USA)

Best Actor: Callum Blue for Goodnight Death (USA)

Best Supporting Actor: Mark Atkinson for Old Aquatics (USA)

Best Child/Young Actor: Andrew Johnston for The Paperboy (Canada)

Best Acting Duo: Lisette Alexis and Kenny Johnston for Feint (USA)

Best Acting Ensemble: Jane Rowen, Evan Carver, Robin Middleton and Patrick M.J. Finerty for There’s No Word for Us (USA)

Best Cinematography: Guiseppe Masi for Goodnight Death (USA)

Best Editing: Bryan Morrison for Room 566 (USA)

Best Production Design: Mark Rivet for Columbus (USA)

Best Sound Design: Spocksone and Didier De Giorgi for Soul of Steel (Switzerland)

Best Original Score: Rolando Gori for Ruth (USA)

Best Original Story: Anton Baryshnikov for The Box (Russia)

Best Short ScriptIn Your Dreams by Arteta Stephane (France)

Best Trailer/Teaser: Help (Australia)






Independent Shorts Awards 2018-2020 © All Rights Reserved