Honorable Mentions: October 2021

Best Indie ShortFor You by Jordan Martinez Richard (USA)

Best Drama ShortReaching for Sky by Hannah Logan (USA)

Best Documentary ShortHuman – Ghost: Food Delivery Drivers As Locals, Strangers, And Wanderers by Lisha Chen (USA)

Best Documentary ShortI Am the Storm by Jason Turner (USA)

Best Comedy ShortControl by Rodja Martin Tröscher (Germany)

Best Comedy ShortThe Rite of Writing by Mitchell Treharne (Australia)

Best Dark Comedy ShortAlbert Rose’s Funeral by Florian Sanchez (France)

Best Dark Comedy ShortDoor to Door by Nicky Hirsch (USA)

Best Action ShortAllegiant to None by Dylan Bowe (USA)

Best Action ShortAssassin League by Matthew Michael Wasiewicz (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: Hand Standman by Dylan St. Aubin (Canada)

Best Film Noir Short: The Narrative by Dmitry Kazantsev (USA)

Best Thriller ShortBackseat Rendezvous by Daniel Noa (USA)

Best Thriller ShortShapes by John Ahle Kellar and Tyler Posey (USA)

Best Mystery ShortSurprise! by Victor Botelho (Canada)

Best Fantasy ShortMasters of Illusion 2: After Party (USA)

Best Horror ShortDamn by Jorge Antares (Puerto Rico)

Best Experimental ShortHow to Hug a Porcupine by Byron Laviolette (Canada)

Best Experimental ShortUnlike Any Other by LaShea Johnson (USA)

Best Student ShortSummer in Winter by Xiaoxing Chen (China)

Best Student ShortUnique Chance by Stylianos Papadimitriou (Greece)

Best Animation ShortBrouchard Ep.2 – Mob Job by James Pavlou (UK)

Best Animation ShortI’m Here by Jennifer Hathaway (USA)

Best Romantic ShortShadows by Michael O’Brien and Stuart Mast (USA)

Best Romantic ShortSmell The Roses by Auset Parris (USA)

Best Women ShortWallpaper by Tanya Jade (Canada)

Best Women ShortWish, I Was There by Sokhean Ouk (USA)

Best LGBTQ Short: La Cita (The Appointment) by Alex Kannan (USA)

Best MicrofilmMiss Fortune by Jayzee Cali (Canada)

Best MicrofilmWhen I Met Mia by Merivelle Hannah (USA)

Best Music VideoDeep Redd by Lionel Monsanto (USA)

Best Music VideoThe Band Royale – Superman by Samuel A. Morris (USA)

Best Web Series/TV PilotBrouchard Ep.2 – Mob Job by James Pavlou (UK)

Best Web Series/TV PilotRex Champion Vs. Human Resources by Kieran Testa (Canada)

Best Web and New MediaThe Subaru Sagas by Danielle Swanson, Brian Larios, Walter Kartman, and Anne Arreguin (USA)

Best Mobile ShortLa Cita (The Appointment) by Alex Kannan (USA)

Best Director (Male): Aris Katsigiannis for 15 – I. M. Faneromenis (Greece)

Best Director (Male): Joey Medina for Beautiful Violence (USA)

Best Student Director (Female): Jennifer Hathaway for I’m Here (USA)

Best Student Director (Female): Liza Gross for Crickets (USA)

Best Student Director (Male): Dylan Bowe for Allegiant to None (USA)

Best Student Director (Male): Mitchell Treharne for The Rite of Writing (Australia)

Best First Time Director (Female): Jeannie Stachniewska for On Charge (UK)

Best First Time Director (Female): Nicky Hirsch for Door to Door (USA)

Best First Time Director (Male): Daniel Bott for Do You Still Ask About Me (UK)

Best First Time Director (Male): Robby Kendall for Drag Queens Must Die! (USA)

Best Young Filmmaker: Joy L Tarzia for 1600: Revised (USA)

Best Actress: Kate O’Neill for Hangman (USA)

Best Actress: Lauren Molina for Let Them Eat (USA)

Best Actor: Anthony Giordano for Greg (USA)

Best Actor: Rodja Martin Tröscher for Control (Germany)

Best Acting Duo: Dan Lorette and Jolie Gutierrez for Stay (USA)

Best Acting Duo: Rudy Cabrera and Charee Baez for Deep Redd (USA)

Best Ensemble Cast: Christina Leidel, Sara Bresee, and Al Dollar for The Pardoner’s Sale (USA)

Best Ensemble Cast: David S. Jung, Elaine Kao, Jonathan Ohye, Jeff Marchelletta, Charles Kim, Andrea Lwin, and Rita Rani Ahuja for Biased (USA)

Best Cinematography: Alex Quintana for Season of Victory (USA)

Best Cinematography: Dan Freene for Good Times, Bad Moon (Australia)

Best Production DesignCode 1/2 (USA)

Best Production DesignDrag Queens Must Die! (USA)

Best Original Score: Brian Sykes, Marlon King, and Cavan Jackson for Pictures Only (USA)

Best Original Score: Reuben Allen for Everybody’s Got Something (USA)

Best Original Story: Jeannie Stachniewska for On Charge (UK)

Best Original Story: Robby Kendall for Drag Queens Must Die! (USA)

Best Short ScriptDead West: The Devil’s Assassin by Alexander Jerome Callens (USA)

Best Short ScriptWired by Edward Tarrell Galloway (USA)






Independent Shorts Awards 2018-2021 © All Rights Reserved