Honorable Mentions: August 2020

Best Indie ShortA Farmer’s Daughter by Audrey Lane (USA)

Best Indie ShortBreathe by Biser Jonev (Bulgaria)

Best Drama ShortJanuary 14th by La’Chris Jordan (USA)

Best Drama ShortLost But Not Forgotten by Tsuyoshi Ishida (USA)

Best Documentary ShortNatalie’s Point of View by Abigail Fuller (USA)

Best Documentary ShortThe Tides That Bind by Nick Natalicchio (USA)

Best Romantic ShortBelovely by Hallie Haller (South Africa)

Best Romantic ShortWhat’s Up by Norah Xi (China)

Best Comedy ShortHazel by Jay Dallen (USA)

Best Comedy ShortSleeper Agent by Will Ammann (USA)

Best Dark Comedy ShortFrostbite On My Dick by Steven Bueno (USA)

Best Dark Comedy ShortRoommates by Meg Poveromo (USA)

Best Thriller ShortThe Black Hole by Carlton Heard (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: Damned if You Do, Damned if You Don’t by Nick Muhlbach (USA)

Best Mystery ShortIt’s Your Turn… by Emma Asquith (UK)

Best Mystery ShortShard by Georgy Keburiya (Georgia)

Best Crime ShortThe Protege’ Project: Chapter 1 by Benny Tjandra and Lovie Johnson (USA)

Best Horror ShortPauper by Neil Watson (V) (USA)

Best Horror ShortVortex by Mauricio Kuri (Mexico)

Best Fantasy ShortTic Tac Toe by Kaustuv Mukherjee (USA)

Best Fantasy ShortWhat’s Up by Norah Xi (China)

Best Sci-Fi ShortEpoch by Ethan Erickson (USA)

Best Sci-Fi ShortThe Processed by Joshua Sowden (USA)

Best Experimental ShortBroken Circle by Dicle Ozcer (USA)

Best Experimental ShortFor Hongkong by Yuzhi Zhu (China)

Best Student ShortThe Escape Room by Vivian Full (Canada)

Best Student ShortWinter Leaves by Geonhee Jang (South Korea)

Best Animation ShortGirl and Robot by Joe Loftus (Ireland)

Best Animation ShortKing Sand by Zahra Shafeie (Iran)

Best Animation ShortKung Fu Express by Cheng Guo (USA)

Best Children ShortMy Brother’s Life Without Sound by Aisha Barker (UK)

Best Women ShortBack Then by Hernán Velit (Peru)

Best Women ShortMadjigui by Maïmouna N’Diaye (Burkina Faso)

Best Women ShortThe Letter by Amy Carlson (USA)

Best LGBTQ ShortMeow Mixer by Joshua Nelson (USA)

Best LGBTQ ShortSand by Marta Aleksandra Przybysz (Poland)

Best MicrofilmHazel by Jay Dallen (USA)

Best MicrofilmRendezvous by Hiroki Utsunomiya (Japan)

Best Music VideoFinding by Sigmund Washington (USA)

Best Mobile ShortI Want To Be a Fashion Designer by Maria Rotger (Spain)

Best Mobile ShortThe Call by Shawn Richardz and Veronica Berry (USA)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: Dino Land by Mark Manjardi (USA)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: The Protectors of the Wood – Dreamstone Warriors by John KixMiller and Tamara Kachelmeier (USA)

Best Web and New MediaThe Great Carbuncle & Other Bird Songs from Prospect Park, Brooklyn, 2020 by Nate Chura (USA)

Best Web and New MediaThe Running Man 2020 by Jonas Grimas (UK)

Best Parody ShortCorona Dating by Rodja Martin Tröscher (Germany)

Best Parody ShortI Fekking Hate You by Michelle Tarbox, Rebecca Nelsen, and Eric Stokloßa (USA)

Best Director (Female): Jennifer Karlsson for Bare Intimacy (Australia)

Best Director (Female): Kk Araujo and Ariane Porto for Jadzia (Brazil)

Best Director (Male): Gareth Brierley for People Show 138: Last Day (UK)

Best Director (Male): Samuel Rigal and Dominic Crisp for I’m From A Place (UK)

Best Student Director (Female): Jessica Pierce for The Tide (USA)

Best Student Director (Female): Mulan Fu for Beautiful (USA)

Best Student Director (Male): Collin Ahrendsen for The Ribbon (USA)

Best Student Director (Male): Sam Lowenburg for Heavenly Care (USA)

Best First Time Director (Female): Dagmar Scheibenreif for Void (UK)

Best First Time Director (Female): Wenting Gao for Summer Attic (China)

Best First Time Director (Male): George Blagden for L A R A (UK)

Best First Time Director (Male): Josh Mathieson for Things that Grow (UK)

Best Young Filmmaker: Cortez Kenton Campos for The Formula For Love (USA)

Best Young Filmmaker: Joy Xing for The Pursuit of Happiness (Canada)

Best Actress: Denise Arregui for Back Then (Peru)

Best Actress: Nicole Tompkins for Hazel (USA)

Best Actor: Chandler Qian for Red Candle (Canada)

Best Actor: Tyrone Huggins for People Show 138: Last Day (UK)

Best Supporting Actress: Candace Keeton for Ovals: I Dont Want to Love Myself (USA)

Best Supporting Actor: Ira Rubin for Late Shift (USA)

Best Supporting Actor: Scott Cohen for The Letter (USA)

Best Child/Young Actress: Mia Andrews for It’s Your Turn… (UK)

Best Child/Young Actor: Markus Schulze for Future Belongs to the Youth (Germany)

Best Acting Duo: Olivia Le May and Nicola Moore for Lollipops (UK)

Best Acting Duo: Tony Bartele and Brock Jones for The Processed (USA)

Best Acting Ensemble: Lisa Belcher, David Allen, James Drake Coleman, and Alex Christian for SaaSy (USA)

Best Acting Ensemble: Ray Strasser-King, Annabel Facer, and Daniel Burke for I’m From A Place (UK)

Best Cinematography: Ilona Szekeres for Hamda (United Arab Emirates)

Best Cinematography: Tyler Murgo for Every Day Burns (USA)

Best Editing: Jack Leronimo for Every Day Burns (USA)

Best Editing: James Grisom for Vacation (USA)

Best Visual FXL A R A (UK)

Best Visual FXTwo Worlds, Not One (UK)

Best Production Design: Alexa Velasquez for Vacation (USA)

Best Production DesignThe Spray (Germany)

Best Sound DesignBlackball (USA)

Best Sound DesignMy Demons (Sweden)

Best Original Score: Filipe Silva for Visions of a Vivid Life (UK)

Best Original Score: Simon Tebbenham for Girl and Robot (Ireland)

Best Original Story: Jaci Kjernander and Mallary Silva for Out With It (USA)

Best Original Story: Keyi Zhang for The River Will Carry Them (China)

Best Short ScriptBerliners by Jack Ebstein (USA)

Best Short ScriptThe Drowned Man by Warren Paul Glover (Australia)

Best Short ScriptTinderBox by Jared Chinigo (USA)






Independent Shorts Awards 2018-2020 © All Rights Reserved