Award Winners: August 2018

Independent Shorts Awards

Raheel by Ayat Asadi Rahbar (Iran)


Independent Shorts Awards

Best Narrative Short: Where She Goes by Moon Chandra (USA)

Best Drama Short: The 4th Floor by Pedram Ganji (Iran)

Best Indie Short: Bang Bang Goes the Gun! by Thomas Everly (USA)

Best Comedy Short: I Will Not Write Unless I Am Swaddled In Furs by Wade Shotter (New Zealand)

Best Fantasy Short: The Shroud by Marie Vandelannoote (France)

Best Crime Short: Niraya by Howie Cheung (Canada)

Best Animation Short: Filmesque by Vincenzo De Sio and Walton Zed (Italy)

Best Women Short: Ma by Millicent Cho (USA)

Best LGBT Short: Gray by Preet (India)

Best Music Video: Beffroi: Faint by O’nonto Zaman (Belgium)

Best Experimental Short: Liquid Soul by Allen Phillips and Trampas Smith (USA)

Best Microfilm: Night & Fun by Delfina Kroeck (Panama)

Best Student Short: Christina by Xiaoyu Yang (USA)

Best Director (Female): Xiaoyu Yang for Christina (USA)

Best Director (Male): Michael Wong for The Story of 90 Coins (China)

Best First Time Director: Howie Cheung for Niraya (Canada)

Best Student Director: Millicent Cho for Ma (USA)

Best Young Filmmaker: José Esteban Pavlovich Salido for Béa (Mexico)

Best Actress: Julie Stackhouse for It’s Not My Fault (USA)

Best Child/Young Actress: Catalina Zavala for Béa (Mexico)

Best Acting Duo: Emily Haigh and Sarine Sofair for The Inuring (UK)

Best Acting Ensemble: Sean Renzetti, Mel Mehrabian, Rudy Solis, Reid Schmidt and Lydia Marie Love for Bang Bang Goes the Gun! (USA)

Best Cinematography: Josh Herzog for Mountain People (Norway)

Best Editing: Howie Cheung for Niraya (Canada)

Best Original Score: Eivind Hannisdal for Mountain People (Norway)

Best Trailer/Teaser: The Tattooist by Michael Wong (China)

Best Original Story: Sam Cooper for Sea of Voices (USA)

Best Short Script: Blood Means Nothing by Mark Oxtoby and Dawn Buckland (UK)

shared with Broken Exchange Uncoded by Sharrie Mccain (USA)