Honorable Mentions: August 2018

Independent Shorts Awards

Best Narrative Short: Change by Joe Jennings Jr. (USA)

Best Narrative Short: Gutless by Nathan Cragun (USA)

Best Narrative Short: My Husband’s Jump by R. W. Gray (Canada)

Best Drama Short: Don’t Forget by Jared Crowelle (USA)

Best Drama Short: Raymond by Madeline O’Hara (USA)

Best Indie Short: Amour Noir by Johann Schultz (Germany)

Best Indie Short: Animal Crackers (Pentimenti) by Tyler A. Chase (USA)

Best Documentary Short: Love Always, Alex by Alex Bell (USA)

Best Comedy Short: Mingle by Ty Cooper (USA)

Best Horror Short: The Cask of Amontillado by Monica Tidwell (USA)

Best Animation Short: Happy: The Angry Polar Bear by Brandon Swofford (USA)

Best Animation Short: Miazmat by Klaudiusz Wesołowski (Poland)

Best Animation Short: Where the Jungle Ends by Joe Stucky (USA)

Best Children Short: A Tale of a Sassy Little Girl by Francesca Nobili (USA)

Best Children Short: Friend or Photo by Caroline Quach (USA)

Best Women Short: Enola by Shelby Wilson (Canada)

Best Women Short: Me Too by Ayeshah Rose (Australia)

Best Music Video: Blue Flamez: To The Sky by LaRonn Katchia and Isaac Trimble (USA)

Best Music Video: The Letting Go by Tyler McElrath (USA)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: Shock Nation by Kimia’ Workman (USA)

Best Microfilm: The Heartthrob by Gazanfer Biricik (France)

Best Student Short: Last Call by Jarrod Anderson (USA)

Best Student Short: Sunflower Soup by Marissa A. Martinez (USA)

Best Director (Female): Madeline O’Hara for Raymond (USA)

Best Director (Female): Marissa A. Martinez for Sunflower Soup (USA)

Best Director (Female): Oboatarhe Ebiye Ikuku for Success (Nigeria)

Best Director (Male): Matt Church for Ghosts (USA)

Best Director (Male): Ray Brady for Afraid of the Dark (UK)

Best First Time Director: Myles Yaksich for Poppies (USA)

Best Young Filmmaker: Mara Cracaleanu for Mirrorcide (Romania)

Best Actress: Ayeshah Rose for Me Too (Australia)

Best Acting Duo: Eleanor Burke and Lauren Cornelius for A Date With Shillelagh (UK)

Best Acting Ensemble: Roseanne Supernault, Nakita Kohan and Darren Adams for Enola (Canada)

Best Cinematography: Liwei Jian for The Story of 90 Coins (China)

Best Cinematography: Rob Mentov for Niraya (Canada)

Best Sound Design: Kris Tookes for Ghosts (USA)

Best Sound Design: Terry Boyce and Des Brady for Afraid of the Dark (UK)

Best Original Score: Dalal Bruchmann for I’m Here (USA)

Best Original Score: Joseph Earwicker for Sunflower Soup (USA)

Best Original Score: Scott Senior for Partying with Communists (USA)

Best Original Story: Morgan Gullett for Switch (USA)

Best Original Story: Nabil Chowdhary for The End of the World (USA)

Best Short Script: Yellow by William MacDonald (UK)