Gold Awards: October 2018

Independent Shorts Awards

Best Narrative Short: On The Edge of Reality by Frank J. Dion (USA)

Best Drama Short: Inner City by Ashutosh Jha (India)

Best Indie Short: On The Edge of Reality by Frank J. Dion (USA)

Best Documentary Short: Syria’s Tent Cities by Mira Hamour (USA)

Best Comedy Short: E.N.T.E.R. by Jack Impellizzeri (USA)

Best Dark Comedy Short: Blue Ford Ranger by James Mair Abroms (USA)

Best Crime Short: F A L L by Vigil Bose (USA)

Best Mystery Short: Say After Me by Luying Zhang (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: A Hand Of Nothing by John Worrall (Ireland)

Best Thriller Short: F A L L by Vigil Bose (USA)

Best Horror Short: The Desecrated by John Gray (USA)

Best Fantasy Short: 4-11 Willows Road by Noah Wong (USA)

Best Sci-Fi Short: Vox by Akil McKenzie and Kevin Santos (Canada)

Best Western Short: Red Rose by Matt Linge (UK)

Best Animation Short: Birds by Xiaochen Zhang (China)

Best Children Short: Boy Racer by Barry Fahy (Ireland)

Best Women Short: G(r)o(w)ing Up by Annabelle Frost (USA)

Best LGBT Short: Ice Cream and Tequila by Joel Junior (USA)

Best Music Video: Social Butterfly by Dane Parsons (Australia)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: Team Mars by Steve O’Reilly, Andy Ferguson and Damien Drake (USA)

Best Web and New Media: Assisted Living by Brent Harvey and Joanna Bronson (USA)

Best Experimental Short: The Blue Gate by Peter Loza and Steven Low (USA)

Best Microfilm: The Riveters by Kate Felix (Canada)

Best Student Short: Intimate by Gianmarco Formica (UK)

Best Mobile Short: Nevermore by Nikita Kaf (Russia)

Best Director (Female): Jen Fernandez Perelman for Alchemy (USA)

Best Director (Male): Keith Wilhelm Kopp for Gage (UK)

Best First Time Director: David Fritzson for Wireless (USA)

Best Student Director: Akil McKenzie and Kevin Santos for Vox (Canada)

Best Actress: Julie Slack for Tree Game (USA)

Best Actor: Daniel Joo for Kommando 1944 (USA)

Best Acting Duo: Joanna Bronson and Denise Blasor for Silence (USA)

Best Child/Young Actress: Fatima Almaraz for The Crimson Flower (Mexico)

Best Child/Young Actor: Sean Murphy for Boy Racer (Ireland)

Best Acting Ensemble: Leah Rae Hulgin, JP Maddock, Colleen Ladrick, Julie Lake, Alyssa Magarian, Monica Davis, Zach Crowley, Brian Teague Williams, Laura McCarthy, Mary Malloy and Jonathan Gaietto for Cursed (USA)

Best Cinematography: Charlotte Hayde for Red Rose (UK)

Best Editing: ChunChun Chen for Eternal (China)

Best Visual FX: Vigil Bose for F A L L (USA)

Best Sound Design: Jenson Jose for F A L L (USA)

Best Original Score: Aaron Jacobs for Coin-Operated Boy (Canada)

Best Original Story: Alastair Railton for Voice of Belief (UK)

Best Short Script: My Mother by Rositsa Trayanova (Bulgaria)