Gold Awards: January 2019

Independent Shorts Awards

Best Narrative Short: The Derailers by Joe Bartone (USA)

Best Drama Short: Mr Franco by Vincenzo Palazzo (Italy)

Best Indie Short: Blood Means Nothing by Mark Oxtoby (UK)

Best Documentary Short: Let Us Be Heroes: The True Cost Of Our Food Choices by Rebecca Cappelli and Abhi Anchliya (Singapore)

Best Comedy Short: Notes From Melanie by Chris Stuckmann (USA)

Best Dark Comedy Short: The Derailers by Joe Bartone (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: Send Me To Hell, Baby by Todd Davies (Canada)

Best Horror Short: When IT Comes by Jordan Wright (USA)

Best Sci-Fi Short: Descent by Annie Poling Swet and Max Jordan (USA)

Best Women Short: Chhi Chhi (Dirty) by Surabhi Saral Sachdev (India)

Best LGBT Short: Coil by Jeremy Tatara (USA)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: #JustBlack by Deondra J. Edwards (USA)

Best Web and New MediaItalian Pizza Masters by James Orr (USA)

Best Music Video: South Central State of Mind by Timur Bootzin (USA)

Best Microfilm: The Jesse Daniels Story by Peter Porta (Spain)

Best Student Short: Boob Sweat by Charlotte Guerry (USA)

Best Director (Female): Rebecca Cappelli and Abhi Anchliya for Let Us Be Heroes: The True Cost Of Our Food Choices (Singapore)

Best Director (Male): Joe Bartone for The Derailers (USA)

Best First Time Director: Sam Williamson for Burying Mitchell (USA)

Best Student Director: Justin Portaro for Kid, the Moon (USA)

Best Actress: Lauren Logan for Blood Means Nothing (UK)

Best Actor: Sha’quil Reeves for Still Here (USA)

Best Acting Duo: Sharon Conley and Sarah McGuire for Burying Mitchell (USA)

Best Child/Young Actress: Lily Oxtoby for Blood Means Nothing (UK)

Best Child/Young Actor: Amir Meyuhas for Milestone (Israel)

Best Acting Ensemble: Duane Weekly, Michelle Way, Mark Christopher Lawrence, Diane Sargent, Karl Backus, Theresa Layne, Merrick McCartha, Mark Atkinson, Stephen Scott, Kirin Kim, Barb Chandler, Kristen Horgen, Hassan Omar, Charlie Steele, Thais Maya, Frank Forth, Oscar Camarillo, and Tim Mace for Skin: The Movie (USA)

Best Cinematography: Peter Porta and David Arasa for The Jesse Daniels Story (Spain)

Best Editing: Jake Armstrong for Going Down: The 7 Deadly Sins of the Office Christmas Party (UK)

Best Visual FX: Flotating (Spain)

Best Special FX: Gauge Wiley for Static Panic! (USA)

Best Sound Design: Ronn Kilby for Skin: The Movie (USA)

Best Original Score: Miguel Arrieta for Beloved Stranger (Spain)

Best Original Story: Mark Oxtoby and Dawn Buckland for Blood Means Nothing (UK)

Best Trailer/Teaser: Skin: The Movie (USA)