Award Winners: September 2018

Independent Shorts Awards

Gun by Edward William Wasser (USA)

Gun directed by Edward William Wasser
Gun directed by Edward William Wasser

Independent Shorts Awards

Best Narrative Short: A Doll’s Hug by Rob Chihwen Lo (Taiwan)

Best Drama Short: Whales by Nora Jaenicke (Italy)

Best Documentary Short: The Song Of Galesh by Kondor Shekari (Iran)

Best Dark Comedy Short: Shotgun by Colin A. Borden (USA)

Best Fantasy Short: A Doll’s Hug by Rob Chihwen Lo (Taiwan)

Best Sci-Fi Short: The Crossing by Jaak Erasmus (South Africa)

Best Animation Short: God I Need a Girlfriend by Foster Huntington/Movie Mountain (USA)

Best Women Short: Ya Tou by Shawn S.X. Zou (Hong Kong)

Best LGBT Short: Irish Goodbye by Adetokumboh M’Cormack (Sierra Leone)

Best Music Video: Local H: Innocents by Felix Piñeiro (USA)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: Breakers: Saving Harper Ross by Chason Laing (USA)

Best Experimental Short: Quarume: Never Go Back by Arturo M. Merelo (Italy)

Best Microfilm: Out of Order by Trifun Sitnikovski (Macedonia)

Best Student Short: Blue Butterfly by Willis Man Chak Wong (Hong Kong)

Best Drone Short: Odyssey: An Exploration to the North by Hiroki Ito (Japan)

Best Director (Female): Malika Pellicioli for Keep It Light (Switzerland)

Best Director (Male): Rob Chihwen Lo for A Doll’s Hug (Taiwan)

Best Student Director: Willis Man Chak Wong for Blue Butterfly (Hong Kong)

Best Actress (Special Jury Prize): Qing Xue for Ya Tou (Hong Kong)

Best Actor (Special Jury Prize): John McNulty for Gun (USA)

Best Acting Ensemble: Nils Vermeire, Odette Vermeire, Luka Vermeire, Dunja Vermeire, Merijn Vermeire and Sairah Erens for The Return (Netherlands)

Best Cinematography: Darren Streibig for Allerton (USA)

Best Sound Design: Evan Matthiesen and Gord Bestwick for Team Teenettes (Canada)

Best Original Score: James Graham for Lara (USA)

Best Original Story: Jaak Erasmus for The Crossing (South Africa)