Award Winners: March 2019

Independent Shorts Awards

The Translator by Pagorn Jungrungruang (Singapore)


Independent Shorts Awards

Alberto Martín-Aragón (Spain)

For his outstanding experimental works such as Disconnections (2018) and The Uniform (2019)


Independent Shorts AwardsBest Narrative ShortThe Translator by Pagorn Jungrungruang (Singapore)

Best Drama ShortSeven Seas by Martin-Philippe Tremblay (Canada)

Best Indie ShortAbout Emma by Mathis Sananes (UK)

Best Documentary ShortShattered Dreams: Sex Trafficking in America by Bill Wisneski (USA)

Best Comedy ShortWalter Treppiedi by Elena Bouryka (Italy) (Nominated for Best Film of the Month)

Best Dark Comedy Short: The Ledge by Lawrence (USA)

Best Mystery Short: The Moon Smells Like Gunpowder by Mark Solter (USA) (Nominated for Best Film of the Month)

Best Crime Short: Wolves Gone Hunting by Junior Day (UK)

Best Thriller ShortNo Deer for Dinner by Yuhang Chen (USA)

Best Horror ShortNo Deer for Dinner by Yuhang Chen (USA)

Best Sci-Fi Short: Special* by Michael Stratigakis  (USA)

Best Experimental ShortDisconnections by Alberto Martín-Aragón (Spain)

Best Student ShortDance Class by Xinying Lao (China)

Best Animation Short: Don’t Feed These Animals by Guilherme Afonso (Portugal) (Nominated for Best Film of the Month)

Best Women Short: Walter Treppiedi by Elena Bouryka (Italy)

Best LGBT Short: Clarity and Chaos by Vittoria Rizzardi Penalosa (UK) (Nominated for Best Film of the Month)

Best Microfilm: Samuel’s Got A Sweet Tooth by Angel Rosa (USA)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: House of Redemption: Hear Me by Tammy Klembith (USA)

Best Music VideoImagination by Marc Donahue (USA)

Best Director (Female): Vittoria Rizzardi Penalosa for Clarity and Chaos (UK)

Best Director (Male): Martin-Philippe Tremblay for Seven Seas (Canada)

Best Student Director: Mathis Sananes for About Emma (UK)

Best Actress: Yanying Huang for Dance Class (China)

Best Actor: Vittorio Ciorcalo for Walter Treppiedi (Italy)

Best Child/Young Actress: Cassandra Ross for Mildred (USA)

Best Child/Young Actor: Ziyu Huang for Dance Class (China)

Best Acting Duo: Eve Pemberton and Jenna Sian O’Hara for Wolves Gone Hunting (UK)

Best Acting Ensemble: Vittorio Ciorcalo, Beatrice Aversano, Sara Deghdak, Mimmo Epifani, Laura Giannatiempo, Franca Kodi, Francesco Russo, and Stefania Visconti for Walter Treppiedi (USA)

Best Cinematography: Mark Solter for The Moon Smells Like Gunpowder (USA)

Best Editing: Matt Duncan and Gabriel Garton for Rear View (USA)

Best Visual FX: Rear View (USA)

Best Sound Design: Jeffery Alan Jones for Sound (USA)

Best Original Score: Norman Skipp for The Moon Smells Like Gunpowder (USA)

Best Original Story: Elena Bouryka for Walter Treppiedi (Italy)

Best Short Script: The Original Horror Story by Lea Ann Vandygriff (USA)