Award Winners: June 2018

Independent Shorts Awards

Sandwich by Lorand Banner Szucs (Hungary)


Independent Shorts Awards

Best Narrative Short: Snowfall Time by Cevahir Çokbilir (Turkey)

Best Drama Short: Welcome Back by Matias Nilsson (USA)

Best Indie Short: Superheroes by Luke Rocheleau (USA)

Best Animation Short: Watermelon: A Cautionary Tale by Kefei Li and Connie Qin He (USA)

Best Thriller Short: Mamba by Sam Puefua (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: Faded Love by David Leidy (USA)

Best Sci-Fi Short: Stop / Eject / Rewind by Elliott de Neve (USA)

Best Comedy Short: For Muriel by Rebecca Shapiro (USA)

Best Experimental Short: The Red by Mohammadreza Keshavarz (Iran)

Best Women Short: Knuckles by Laura Groombridge (Australia)

Best Student Short: Anita by Mariah Jones (USA)

Best Female Director: Laura Groombridge for Knuckles (Australia)

Best Male Director: Lorand Banner Szucs for Sandwich (Hungary)

Best First Time Director: Gonzalo Menéndez for Mr. Larraín (Chile)

Best Actress: Lauren McCann for Cecile (USA)

Best Supporting Actor (Special Jury Prize): Danny Gavigan for Rumination (USA)

Best Child/Young Actress: Emma Bercovici for Sandwich (Hungary)

Best Acting Duo: Elizabeth Ellson and Andre Boyer for Crossover (USA)

Best Acting Ensemble: Mindy Sterling, Concetta Tomei and Rakefet Abergel for For Muriel (USA)

Best Cinematography: Cevahir Çokbilir for Snowfall Time (Turkey)

Best Editing: Cevahir Çokbilir for Snowfall Time (Turkey)

Best Sound Design: META – James Thomas for A P E X (UK)

Best Original Story: Lorand Banner Szucs for Sandwich (Hungary)