Gold Awards: August 2018

Independent Shorts Awards

Best Narrative Short: Deadbolt by Michael McCallum (USA)

Best Drama Short: The Inuring by James Hughes (UK)

Best Indie Short: Ma by Millicent Cho (USA)

Best Documentary Short: Reckless by Alireza Dehghan (Iran)

Best Crime Short: Unorganized Crime by Nick Vallelonga (USA)

Best Thriller Short: Switch by Nicole Ludowese (USA)

Best Horror Short: And Nothing Hurt by Gav Chuckie Steel (UK)

Best Sci-Fi Short: After We Have Left Our Homes by Marc Adamson (UK)

Best Animation Short: Pour 585 by Patrick Smith (USA)

Best Women Short: Good Times by Allyson Reilly (USA)

Best LGBT Short: Night & Fun by Delfina Kroeck (Panama)

Best Music Video: I Cant Lose by Patrick House (USA)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: Rudi by Piernicola Arena and Lillo Venezia (Italy)

Best Web and New Media: Rudi by Piernicola Arena and Lillo Venezia (Italy)

Best Experimental Short: Memories by Takamasa Iwasaki (Japan)

Best Microfilm: Filmesque by Vincenzo De Sio and Walton Zed (Italy)

Best Student Short: Partying with Communists by Vincent Blake (USA)

Best Director (Female): Sarah London for Wildness (USA)

Best Director (Male): James Hughes for The Inuring (UK)

Best First Time Director: Wade Shotter for I Will Not Write Unless I Am Swaddled In Furs (New Zealand)

Best Student Director: Sam Cooper for Sea of Voices (USA)

Best Young Filmmaker: Gabriel P Braden for Wards (USA)

Best Actress: Olga Merediz for Lesson #7 (USA)

Best Actor: Adam Reeser for The End of the World (USA)

Best Child/Young Actress: Morgan Gullett for Switch (USA)

Best Acting Duo: Jesse Boone and Wesley Newman for Last Day (USA)

Best Acting Ensemble: Marguerite Stimpson, Manuel Herrera and Yuka Taga for Ma (USA)

Best Cinematography: Lidia Nikonova for The Day That (USA)

Best Editing: Kaiyi Song for The Story of 90 Coins (China)

Best Visual FX: Allen Phillips and Trampas Smith for Liquid Soul (USA)

Best Sound Design: Andrew Gabreski for Tapferkeit (USA)

Best Original Score: Wei An for The Story of 90 Coins (China)

Best Trailer/Teaser: Tapferkeit by Joseph Quinn (USA)

Best Original Story: Emily Haigh for Beautified (UK)

Best Short Script: When the Rain Sets In by James Hughes (UK)